Fruit and Meat

5 Sep

There is this common dish, in all Chinese restaurants, called Orange Chicken,  which is basically batter-coated chicken deep-fried to a golden crisp, then stir-fried in a special sauce.  Most at-home chefs make the sauce from lemon juice, soy sauce, ginger, garlic, pepper, and some kind of orange flavoring, such as orange juice, orange zest, or orange marmalade.  It tastes wonderful with steamed white rice, but this process of frying and re-frying doesn’t exactly make this dish good for the heart and body.

In order to make this a healthier dish, I decided to used grilled, non-fried chicken and chunks of genuine orange.  The most important part of this meal was that I was not planning to eat it – my roommates were, and I was confident that their immune systems could combat anything I throw at them.  My roommates usually do all the cooking, so since I had finished my homework for the day, I decided to help with cooking dinner.  I had already had a filling lunch at 3p.m. and wanted to cook for the sheer fun of experimentation.  I have never tried to cook fruit with meat before, but it is not unheard of.  I personally love Hawaiian pizza with its pineapple and ham combination.

However, it turns out that chicken (previously marinated with one of my roommates’ mother’s homemade sauce) mixed in with oranges neither looks appetizing nor tastes great.  Nonetheless, it was edible and quite different from anything we have had before, and no one fought for the bathroom that night.

Leave a Reply

